SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jamie_z7bhz8

Veggie Tales - August 2019

Jamie
4 years ago

It’s August (where has the summer gone?) We have had a decent summer season by many of our plants are slowing down due to the heat. After a bit of a vacation, we will be clearing out a couple of the beds and preparing them for fall and winter crops.

Successes this season: cucumber and zucchini (as well as winter squashes)

Moderate success: tomatoes

poor performers: beans, peppers

Comments (447)

• Robin Morris
    4 years ago
    last modified: 4 years ago

So many lovely harvest pictures on this thread!

I am new to trying to save seeds... do you have to ferment them? I was just drying them and assuming that was enough.

I came back from a trip to find my backyard garden overrun with whiteflies. Had to pull out all the beans (which were done anyway) and most of of the squash leaves. They are even on my basil and marigolds which are supposed to deter them. Been going crazy with the neem oil trying to save my nearby fruit trees. Going to unleash an army of lady bugs soon. We are going on an even longer trip in September, so I have a week to get them under control before we leave.... I have never had whiteflies before. They are awful! Really concerned I'm going to come back to find everything dead.

Just learned that if you let romano beans go too far, you can shell them and use them like cannellini beans.... I wonder if this is true of all green beans. I enjoyed reading Len's bean tasting! I also, didn't like my purple beans this year. Grew a red one that is pretty good though. Next year I should do a more scientific tasting like that!