SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
ingrid_vc

Mislabeled Roses Rant

I have been babying a certain rose for two years now (it apparently suffered from replant rose disease) in the belief that it was Rhodologue Jules Gravereaux, only to find now as it finally has buds for the first time, that I have yet another impostor, most probably Mme. Lambard, of which I now have three bushes instead of the one I ordered. The second Mme. Lambard was ordered as Triomphe de Luxembourg.

These mistakes may not be a problem for a garden that has one hundred or two hundred roses, but I have forty-eight and for me this is supremely annoying. Mme. Lambard is a reasonably nice roses, but I absolutely love Rhodologue Jules Gravereaux (I have another plant of it) and I very much wanted a second bush of this beautiful rose. Triomphe de Luxembourg seems to be fairly similar to RJG, and I very much wanted that rose also. I was also sent Mrs. B.R. Cant, a rose I'm not fond of, by mistake, although by now I've forgotten what I actually ordered.

I know that many of you have also been sent incorrect roses, so this seems to be a not uncommon occurrence. However, in these days of climate change where finding a suitable spot for roses in a hot climate is becoming increasingly challenging, it is no small matter to grow an incorrect rose, and lavish care and water on it, especially if it does not reveal itself to be the wrong rose for a year or two. Okay, end of rant, but I cannot tell you how dispiriting it was yesterday to find that the rose I had believed to be RJG, planted in a very desirable location, was yet another Mme. Lambard, number 3.

Comments (36)

• jerijen
    5 years ago

I'm sorry. That MUST be annoying as all Hell.

ingrid_vc so. CA zone 9 thanked jerijen
  • Lisa Adams
    5 years ago