SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
mytemporaryacct

New to tomato & gardening - need advice

My home in california is starting a tomato plant in a pot. I am brand new to gardening, but went through a bunch of youtube videos in order to understand how to soil a pot and grow my indeterminate tomato (cherry). My wife got a small plant that was about 1 ft tall, and i potted it in a 5 gallon bucket (for starters). Since this is my very first attempt at gardening, i thought i will get into the trouble of a raised-bed garden in my backyard, if i am successful in growing it to about 3 or 4 ft. After 1 week indoors, the plant was potted, and moved to my backyard for sun. I have 2 questions after watching it for past 6 days ......

1. I have read up and understood that it needs water only once in 2 or 3 days. I bought Kellogg Garden Organics 32 oz. Fish and Kelp Liquid Fertilizer from HD and as per instructions mixed 1 TBSP with 0.5 gallon of water and fed it every 2 days. I punched holes at bottom of pot, so about half of the water i put in was draining away within 1 hour of watering. Is this ok, or am i watering the plant badly ? I have not seen any growth in the plant ever since it came to my home about 3 weeks ago. (Except for couple of yellow flowers that have come up)
  2. The above is a 2-2-2 liquid fertilizer. Is the amount of fert i am feeding sufficient until it grows to about 4 ft high and i move it out of pot ? The soil i have in the 5 gallon is a mix of potting soil, 1 yr old bag of pete moss (from my garage) and top soil from my east bay backyard all mixed together in ratio of 1: 1: 0.5 with 1 inch of mulch on top (that has a little bit of grass clippings, as i read up on the web).