SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
yeonassky

How long have you been cooking for?

yeonassky
5 years ago

And do you still enjoy it?
I've really only been really cooking since my early twenties since I had children. I wasn't allowed to cook at home when I was growing up. So I've been cooking for of my 62 years.
I enjoy cooking but I am wary about spices Etc. I never know what spice or herb is going to set off my symptoms.
I have to retrofit any recipe to my unusually highly restricted diet. Right now I'm in a bit of a funk because it seems like all I'm eating tastes too bland and or the same. I am going to have to make an effort to find some way to brighten up my food without salt, sugar or oregano, or Sage Etc. I'm thinking lemon. Can't use soy sauce or in any form either. Sigh. I pretty much cook everything from scratch and can't have any grains except for a whole grain whole wheat and rye bread.
How do you keep cooking fresh for yourself? Are you able to keep cooking fresh even with dietary restrictions?

Comments (43)

• colleenoz
    5 years ago

I started cooking when I was about 5, doing simple things like grilled cheese sandwiches, bacon, percolator coffee etc. By the time I was 13/14 I was filling in on the days off of the cook in our country hotel. With some of the cooks we had the regulars looked forward to their days off :-)

So I’ve been cooking nearly 55 years. Still enjoy it and look forward to trying new foods, recipes and techniques. DH is restricted to a FODMAP diet which poses some challenges but we work around it.

yeonassky thanked colleenoz
  • John Liu
    5 years ago
    last modified: 5 years ago