SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
blueiris3

Annual Springbank Park London, ON, Plant Swap

blueiris3
5 years ago

Hello all,

It's that time of year, well sort of, lots of years I have snowdrops and aconites, if not crocuses by now.

Not this year, but new growth is happening in places here, all the same, as the white stuff retreats.

Have you started anything indoors yet?

Looking forward to seeing you all some Saturday the end of May beginning of June.

Cheers,

BlueIris3

Comments (358)

• rosco_pc
    4 years ago

Hello Heather, Lois and Merja: Believe me I am no expert on calla Lilies...but I do have a number growing and I find they grow best for me in Partial Shade. The ones that I have left in full sun usually end up with faded leaves whereas the partial shade ones are more vibrant. As far as flowering ...well I haven't really noticed an appreciable difference in either locations. This is just my experience and it is limited. This year I have planted the yellow Callas in the ground and am growing the whites in pots....don't really know why but that is how it has worked out. I shall see what results I have this summer. Also one last pointer is not too plant them too deep. It seems they like to be shallow! I was mentioning to Merja at the swap that I had a Peony that was just sitting idle and not showing much sign of growth and after several years has yet to flower...she suggested that maybe I have it planted too deep so I am going to work on that. I guess there are many plants that should be grown on the shallower side and I will have to take that into consideration when I am looking for reasons that a certain plant is not doing well!...always things to learn in gardening. Hope everyone is enjoying their gardens. I have spent a few hours the last couple of days trying to eradicate the thug Campanula Ranunculoides from my garden beds. I have an invasion on my hands. Wish me luck!

• signet_gw(6b)
    4 years ago