SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
kevin_forst

Please help! I don't know what I'm doing.

Kevin Forst
5 years ago
last modified: 5 years ago

I am new to vermicomposting and wanted some advice. I recently started a worm bin in an 18 gallon Rubbermaid tub, using mostly coconut coir with a little bit of shredded newspaper and cardboard. It is outdoors. I have several questions. First, if I am outside looking through the bin once a day to check on my worms is that bad? Second, it has been almost two weeks since I added the worms and they still don't appear to be eating. There is a fairly large amount of white mites on top and when I dug down to where I first put the food it is swarming with maggots. What should I do and am I doing something wrong?!?!

Comments (9)

• Kevin Forst
    Original Author
    5 years ago

I just added a layer of dry newspaper and cardboard shred. And then a peice of cardboard over it.

• Priswell
    5 years ago

How many worms do you have? How much food are you adding? It's not unusual for worms to take a while to settle in and appear to not eat, or to actually not eat as they get acclimated.

If you have maggots (are they black soldier fly larvae or regular fly maggots?), it's a sign that you are feeding them too much.

Also, make sure that your bin is out of the sun.

• Kevin Forst
    Original Author
    5 years ago

I think I put way to much food in the first time. I started with 500 worms, and yeah I'm 99% sure they are black soldier fly. I just don't want them to take all the food from my worms. Also I drilled a bunch of 1/8 in holes on the bottom for drainage, is the sufficent?

• Priswell
    5 years ago

It's not unusual to find BSFL in a worm bin. But large numbers are a sure indicator that you have put too much food in. They like fresh food like fruits and veggies best.

Some people like BSFL in their bins because the larvae will break down whatever food is there, consume what they want, and then the worms can clean up the rest.