SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
adparker53

What height to put curtain rods in this vaulted room?

adparker53
6 years ago
last modified: 6 years ago

This is our casual living room with three separate windows on the same wall that also has vaulted ceilings. Need some help with what to do curtain wise here...

Questions:

1. Do I hang three separate curtain rods or find something custom to do a single rod all the way across? (Would need to be over 12 feet long if just one rod, which seems excessive to me- but I'm no pro!)

2. What height do I hang the rod?

the line drawn on pic is about 1/2 way up the molding on each side. this would be for 96" panels hung on clips. I think 108"panels would look funny- as the rod would be quite a bit above the crown molding..thoughts? Or some other custom length?

3. I was currently planning to do solid linen panels close to the wall color- should I do that or look for something with more of a pattern? FYI- this room is on the front of the house along with office and formal living, so wasn't sure if curtains in all rooms needed to be the same/similar to avoid looking funky from outside. The pictured panel fabric is almost identical to the current panels in the office, which is the next room.

The rest of thof room for reference. Side note: getting rid of those shelves on either side of fire place as they look wimpy and out of place. suggestions on what to do there instead?

Comments (22)

• Sammy
    6 years ago

1. Do I hang three separate curtain rods or find something custom to do a single rod all the way across? (Would need to be over 12 feet long if just one rod, which seems excessive to me- but I'm no pro!)

Three separate curtain rods.*

2. What height do I hang the rod?

Read this.

FYI- this room is on the front of the house along with office and formal living, so wasn't sure if curtains in all rooms needed to be the same/similar to avoid looking funky from outside.