SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jemma_pugsley

MCM Living Room Needs A Facelift

Jemma Pugsley
6 years ago

I'm a teacher and every free minute that I've had this spring break has been spent obsessing over this room. Sad, I know. The worst part is that I'm no closer to improving it.

The only thing new in here is the sectional - it's too big for the space, but we really love it. It's my office when I'm at home (hence the crazy blanket mess). One issue that this causes is narrow clearance along the wall that the TV is on. It's only about 3'1'' from that wall to the end of the sectional.

I plan to move the armchair, ottoman, and bookcases to another room. The TV stand and coffee table are relics from my partner's bachelor pad and we have no attachment to them. I'm also on the hunt for my white whale - a rug that is comfortable, attractive, practical, and affordable.

Help, please!

Side note: While my budget is not extensive, I am able to build furniture.

Comments (91)

• User
    6 years ago
    last modified: 6 years ago

Well, it looks like you're not overly stuck in one direction and that's a great thing when you're on a limited budget...

Why don't we try to make your room feel like your inspiration room?

Here's a rug for you to consider...

Very fuzzy, not TOO much white, and 209 dollars.

I'll keep going...

ETA shows currently out of stock for that, but you can be notified when it comes back in...they should honor the coupon price...

• User
    6 years ago

This one, to me, feels like the Marah Rug...

Link, sorry, uncooperative laptop..

https://www.rugsusa.com/rugsusa/rugs/rugs-usa-shaggy-trellis/Ivory/200OZST01A-P.html

• Related Discussions

Dining Room need a facelift??

Q

Comments (8)