SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
hilai

Desperately needing help with dwarf citrus

Corinna
6 years ago

I am a newbie citrus fan and in need of some serious help. I have 2 dwarf Yuzu I bought from Four Winds Grower a year and a half ago (they were 3 year old trees). They were doing fine until about 6 months when many of the leaves suddenly turned yellow and dropped and some branches died completely. I also have a dwarf Kaffir lime tree and a dwarf Rangpur lime tree I bought at the same time. The Kaffir is doing great. The Rangpur would not stop flowering and did not have much vegetative growth since purchase evem though I pinch off most of the flowers.

Here is some relevant info on the plants:

1. They are container plants, and have not been repotted since arrival.

2. They are indoor only, and I have two 250w equivalent CFL, 6500K Full Spectrum bulbs in floodlight reflectors on stands. They are on from 6am to 8pm. This picture shows the setup. I just added the LED panel from Aero garden a few days ago.

3. For the first 8 months, I didn't fertilize them. But for past 6 months or so since they weren't doing well, I fertilized them about once a month with Jobe's Organic Fruit & Citrus Fertilizer (3-5-5). This initally stopped some leaf dropping and there were a little spurt of new leaf growth on the top of the Yuzus, but the fertilizer seemed to have made all the trees flower, and I am afraid they are too weak to flower right now, so I have not applied any fertilizer in a little over a month.

4. I water the trees only when the top two inches of soil feel dry, then I water deeply and don't let them stand in any water on the trays. About 3-4 times a year, I bring them to the bathroom and give them a good rinse with the shower head with gentle pressure.

5. In the winter, I have a humidifier that keeps the room humidity at about 35-40%.

6. The soil pH is 7 and the soil temperature is 75F.

Here are my questions: