SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
rosie_5756

Expectations for dating a man with kids- when is it too much?

Rosie
6 years ago

Hello all, this is my first time posting so please bare with me.

I am an independent woman in my early 30s and I have worked very hard to get to where I am at in my life (good career, house, ability to travel, etc.). I have been in a relationship with my wonderful, caring, sweet and compassionate SO for just under 2 years. I love him dearly and he makes me feel very appreciated and loved every day. I have no children of my own, and this is the first time I have dated a man with children. I have found it to be an extremely challenging and steep learning curve given my lack of experience and all of the complicating factors that come with a divorce with kids.

My SO has two children which stay with him every weekend: a daughter who is 13 and an 7 year old son. I met them about six months into our relationship. They are good kids and I do like them and I believe they like me. However, much of the time I still feel like a fourth wheel. The three of them have so much history and so many common interests that I feel excluded from many conversation topics. The daughter typically poses a question by prefacing it with “Dad, _______?”, and doesn’t often talk directly at me and very rarely incorporates me into their conversations. She is shy, so I understand that’s likely the reason, but it still acts as a reminder that I am not really a member of their inner circle. Both kids are quite introverted, so it’s hard to carry on conversations with them, and I get very limited answers when I try and ask them about their day to day... I wish I knew how to engage them more so they would open up to me. I know this is not anything personal, however it makes it hard to form a deeper bond with them.