SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
pvecholane

Nuts about grasses

echolane
6 years ago

It's my favorite time of year and grasses are very much a part of it because of their colorful change to winter.

Here are three Panicums in the process of changing color while sporting their pretty flowers. The first is Panicum Heavy Metal, the second is a very young Panicum Northwind. I have a third, Panicum Hot Rod but it is a much shorter Panicum and young, so it's nearly impossible to see buried among other plants but If you look closely it has gone very red.

Pennisetum alopecuroides Hameln is the oldest grass in my garden. I've been dividing my original clone for close,to 40 years and I wouldn't dream of not having its graceful fountain shape and colorful fall and winter presence in my garden.

I tried our another Pennisetum cultivar this year, Desert Plains, and it has a lot more fall color for some reason. Disappointingly, it didn't flower for me this year. It's mates in the ground were atypically stingy with their flowers this year. Perhaps there wasn't enough winter chill for this grass which is a shame because I do like it's flowers. Or it doesn't like being pot bound and its mates were much underwatered this year too.

. I went crazy for Stipa ichu last year because of those spectacular flowers, but it has disappointed me this year because the plant and its flowers tend to flop too much. And it seeds about a bit much. But I think I'll always keep one around because it's so colorful.

This colorful grass, Stipa arundinacea, is evergreen, though it tends to be colorful all year.