SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
chelseycooper118

Color Variation in Wood flooring: classic or trendy?

6 years ago

Hi! My husband and I are in the final stages of building our first home! So far everything we've chosen (paint color, cabinets, counter tops) all work beautifully together. Our next bigger decision is to choose our flooring.

We went looking last week and both agreed on a favorite, we checked out the sample and brought it to the new house, and LOVED it.

Then I started reading about choosing design elements (especially flooring) that is classic over trendy. I absolutely get the logic however the flooring that we're in love with has some definite color/tonal variations and now I'm second guessing myself.

Is this something we should go with because we love it (and plan to be in the house for at least 10+ years) or would it be better/smarter to think of re-sale now and choose something with less character?

Comments (30)

• 6 years ago

I'm no expert, but would go with what you love. I prefer a variation in wood tones. I think it looks more natural.

When we bought our house a few years ago, the first floor had wood floors. The second floor was carpeted. We put the same wood floor on the second floor. Both floors are the same color, but the first floor has more variations than the new floor. I prefer the first floor.

chelseycooper118 thanked micheletx
  • Related Discussions

Trendy v classic -- large tiles on floors

Q

Comments (15)