SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jenswrens

Which cages for Earthbox?

jenswrens
6 years ago

I am going to be planting determinate tomatoes in Earthboxes this year. I've never used EBs before. I've searched and come up with several different cages to choose from, but I'm not sure which one to pick. I definitely want cages, because I'm too lazy to stake or string or prune, and the little trellis that comes with the EB seems way too flimsy and small.

These are the ones I've seen:

1) Pea fence cage by Raybo for the Earthtainer (but I read it will also fit the EB);

2) Ultomato put together in a rectangle as seen here;

3) Burpee's Pro Series cage +/- the extender;

4) Texas Tomato cages, but I'm afraid these will be too big for the EB.

That's all I could find. I'm not willing to buy the giant rolls of cow fencing, and I have no interest in using PCV piping. I want to buy something ready-made or very close-to ready.

Since I'm only planting determinates, how tall of a cage will I really need? Which one of these do you think makes the most sense?

Comments (35)

• PupillaCharites
    6 years ago
    last modified: 6 years ago

Don't know the leg measurements of the Burpee ones to say for sure, Dave's link from Gurney's looks nice to me for a determinate though it doesn't use all the rectangular space you have and in the best of all worlds I want as much space as I can get since I can't prune a determinate.

I don't like the plastic Ultomato as being too flimsy. The 20" Texas Tomato Cage also doesn't give you full coverage and if you have an Earthbox original that's 13.5" on the short length of the area, I doubt it would fit inside making you need to secure it outside. (I do love the TTCs though after setting someone up with them this season very impressive). My Guess is the 20" TTC will need a 14 3/8" x 14 3/8" square footprint, based on my belief the 24" ones are about 19"x19" footprint.