SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
portlandmysteryrose

Tricks for Designing with Exuberant Own Root OGRs

portlandmysteryrose
7 years ago
last modified: 7 years ago

On another thread, someone asked me to elaborate on my method of alternating spreading (suckering) OGRs with other classes or cane/foliage types. I thought it might be nice, for both experienced hands and ones new to gardening with old roses, to start a thread on designing with "traveling" roses.

I began to garden with thugs in MN because, frankly, many of the roses that grow in that climate are OGRs which just can't help but colonize the garden. I grew to love Gallicas, Albas, Damasks and Rugosas. In that climate they weren't quite as rampant as they are in the rainforest climate of the PNW, but they still required The Shovel's boundary setting vigilance.

I realized the other day that I've been gardening for around 30 years! Time flies, and (ahem) I began at a very tender age, of course. With all that time to learn from my various trials, tribulations and gardening flops, I've finally acquired a few tricks.

One such trick involves harnessing the beauty and usefulness of biodiversity. OGR phenotypes noticeably vary across classes, and I am oh-so-relieved that they do. Because that means that even if Charles de Mills and Tuscany Superb produce similar Gallica foliage, I can simply assign them bed spaces diagonally across the garden and proceed to use other roses with very different foliage or canes as fillers. I still have to remove spreading stolons/canes, but I can at least IDENTIFY them!