SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
danielle_schumer

Questions from a newbie

Danielle Schumer
7 years ago

Hi everyone, I am planning on getting a few succulents here soon, probably this weekend. I've never had them before, but after seeing my sister post all her update pics on her succulents that she was growing for her greenhouse business, I finally decided I would get some after years of wanting them. My plan was to buy some from her but they sold out as soon as she posted them, so I will have to buy elsewhere for now.

I am in zone 6b. I am not new to gardening or growing plants, however I am new to growing indoor plants (and Im aware that most need to be overwintered indoors) The only indoor plants I've ever been able to grow are some pothos vines and those are growing out of the filters in my aquariums to help with nitrates. Outdoors I mainly grow lots and lots of lilium (lily-oriental, asiatic, trumpet etc) and hemerocallis (daylily). What I am most interested in with succulents is actually the propagating part of it, especially with using the leaf pieces to grow new babies. I do something similar with my lily bulbs- removing some scales and growing baby bulbs off them. It's something I enjoy very much, watching the new lily babies slowly grow over time. That being said, I have seen jade plants being recommended for new succulent owners (?) growers (?), however they don't really pique my interest too much. I am mostly intrigued by the rosette types.

On to the questions. I have been bingeing on succulent videos, but there is a few things I would like to ask that I have not really seen mentioned in videos online.

1. When I get the new plant (s), do I have to repot immediately, or will it be okay for a week or two?