Balance: how to sustainably harvest native plants

Dave Anderson

I am a filmmaker, working with a non-profit in Maine, to create a film on how to sustainably harvest native plants. You can see the trailer for the film here. https://vimeo.com/212681354

Here is a link to the Kickstarter for the project
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1414303942/balance-how-to-sustainably-harvest-native-plants

SaveComment6Like
Comments (6)
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
wisconsitom(Zone 4/5)

Hmmm? Not sure how a film that helps to popularize the activity of foraging for wild plants....helps preserve those plants. I do agree with a number of the points made however, including the basic one that any hope for "conservation" in the emerging world will involve humans and human activity somehow, or it will not exist.

But again, as the two purported goals, stated at clip's end, are to help to preserve wild plants and to aid and assist in the health of foragers......and are somewhat contradictory, or at least not coming out of the same bag, in my view, I can't imagine a world where ten billion people derive all or even any significant portion of their daily diet from tramping around in the woods. I don't want them in my woods! It would be ruined very quickly.

2 Likes Save    
wantonamara Z8 CenTex

I am a forager, of sorts and I don't see foraging becoming a mass activity ever. People are too scared of things from the wild. I have cooked meals of mushrooms, puff balls, 'chicken in a basket", wild sorrel and many edible invasive like bastard cabbage and most people don't want to touch them or they eat them with fear.

A road work crew brought in some infected fill and I have been eating gobs of bastard cabbage the last few years and it seems that we are thinning out the seed bank. Obviously I am not doing the 1/2 rule. I am doing all of it and building up my compost heap with wet I can't eat.

1 Like Save    
Dave Anderson

Hi Wisconsitom,