SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
satchitosan8b

Asking a different kind of q. Dread locks

satchitosan8b
7 years ago
last modified: 7 years ago

An acquaintance of mine recently asked me about a month ago if I would be interested in working at a local upscale-ish restaurant. I told her I would think about it and get back to her. I just started my first semester at school and wanted to make sure I was adjusted in school before taking on a new job and I have never worked in a restaurant before.

Fast foward to a few days ago I tell my friend that works with the acquaintance that I never got back to her about the job. She quickly says, that she doesn't think they would hire me because I have dreadlocks! I was going to add that I had too much school work as a full time student for the job but when she put that out there... It got me thinking. I have dread locks, a septum piercing and a lip piercing. Why was my hair the issue here?

My dreadlocks are pretty new. They are clean, small, and tidy. Easily pulled into a bun like anyone else can do with loose hair. It is a common-ish style for black women. I understand the stigma associated with locs. Many people think they are not washable, I wash my hair every other day. We live in a small touristy town so I understand presentation but are dreadlocks really all that bad to those that don't lock their own hair?