SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
odiegirl13

Dreading This Post - Tell Me About My Cabinets

Christine Clemens
13 years ago

Well, even after my years of planning there have been some issues with my custom cabinets. Can you guys take a look and tell me what you think? Thanks for any help.

He also put in a drawer front that is different from the doors and the one I approved. Of course he told me he always does that.

What is up with the panels flanking the range?

What is up with the feet?

Does the space for the DW look right?

Why did he put in this big piece of flat moulding?

Why are there no backs on some of the cabinets? This leaves me with a hole in the bottom of the cabinet???

This moulding was supposed to be very simple. Originally 4.5'' then at the last minute said 5''. This is 6'' and too convoluted for me.

Comments (53)

• lisadlu
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I'm not a cabinet expert but there are some good ones on this site who will answer eventually, in the meantime this is what I think:

"What is up with the panels flanking the range? " - I think this is normal installation. Remember you will have the lip of your countertop extending past the plywood box so the stove will be flush.

"Does the space for the DW look right? " - Again, it looks normal to me. I think the DW has insulation that wraps around it so you need the space for the insulation to fit.

"Why did he put in this big piece of flat moulding?" - All walls are not straight so sometimes cabinets don't fit flush against the wall which leaves gaps in some areas. The molding hides any gaps.

"Why are there no backs on some of the cabinets? This leaves me with a hole in the bottom of the cabinet???" - I just checked my cabs and they all have backs on them, but I've read that some cab's do not but it shouldn't affect the sturdiness.