SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
en_en_en

Help with rapidly dying Calathea Roseopicta + Is it still savable?

En En
7 years ago
last modified: 7 years ago

Hello there, I know that there have been questions like this in the forum but none of them helped me and this is kind of an emergency because my plant is dying really fast and I'm in great panic.

I'm a college student that goes to school at night and since our house is quite lifeless from the inside (and out), I thought that I should buy a plant to lighten up the surroundings a bit. (I've tried it before when I was a lot younger but with a Katakataka sapling and it died in a few days. Tried one with a lucky bamboo years ago and it also died. I am bad at keeping things alive.)

A senior of mine started selling plants (cactuses are the majority) but since my aunt is very superstitious (pointy plants are bad luck inside the house, she says) so she decided against them.

Went to my senior's house and his mother helped me in picking a plant. Most needed sunlight and since our part of the house is very dark, I chose one that she said didn't need light that much. Okay, before you cringe or something, let me inform you that she didn't know what kind of plant it was. Just that it doesn't need that much sunlight, is very pretty and is easy to take care of even for me who doesn't know anything about plants (boy, was she wrong).

So she repotted it and I only got to receive it 2 weeks or so later (very late than what we initially talked about because there was a summer storm and I wasn't allowed to leave because the summer storms are worse than normal these days) and it looked like it's wilting. When I asked why it looked weird and crunchy, she said that it's because the sun is setting and it curls up at night. I took it anyways and paid her. This was the first week of August, the third month of summer.