SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jlevijunk

Any thoughts on my prospective appliance line up?

Lefty Lou
7 years ago
last modified: 7 years ago

The kids are off to college and we are transforming our house from kid-meca to adult-meca. For us this means cooking with friends a minimum of twice a week, enjoying wine and each other's company. I love having people in the kitchen with me and am often being asked to teach people how to cook. I suspect I am a better than average cook, but that's based on a pretty small sample size of the friends who feed me. Said friends assert that I am a great cook, but they love me so they are biased in my favor.

I do all my baking from scratch, including bread weekly. I bake goodies to send to my kids in college, weekly. Homemade pizza on the grill is a frequent event, especially in the the summer. I sous-vide a lot, and subsequently sear in carbon steel pans a lot. We eat a lot of roasted fresh veggies. I make all my soups and sauces from scratch, blah, blah, blah -- I cook from scratch. ;-)

On a day-to-day basis, I cook DH cleans up. Lucky me!

I've been reading reviews and comments on this forum for several months in preparation for our remodel. I've listed the items in order of importance to me, i.e. the rangetop is the most important, ovens second, etc. I appreciate any words of advice you can provide.

1. Range top: Capital Culinarian-- trying to decide between 48" with griddle or the 36" and just getting the griddle out when I need it. The price difference is not a factor in this decision.
  2. Vent-a-hood - is there a less expensive option that's as good?
  3. Ovens: Miele 30" double convection ovens OR Miele 30" single convection oven paired with the Miele Combi-Steam oven. I'm a little over 5'10" so prefer wall ovens to ranges.