SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
flyfisher66

My Roses in Burning Heat...... Zone 9b

Temps in Islamabad during the past 20 days or so have ranged between 101 to 115*F the maximum and 72 to 84*F the minimum. However, it has been raining regularly after every 5-6 days at an average which brings the temp down on next day. On occasions, it has been a strong hailstorm or windstorm that devastates the bushes.

I am happy to see the growth of my rose bushes has not been affected much this year despite high heat. I don't use any kind of synthetic pesticide or fungicide ever and I am now very careful in spraying any organic pesticide too. I have been working on my soil since the last two years and now the top 4-5 inch layer is full of organic matter and worms. Lot of life. I have been regularly feeding my roses with the homemade compost that is rich in K, Ca, Mg and contains enough N, P, Zn, Fe and other trace elements. I am keeping the ratio of Phosphorus the lowest and nitrogen is just enough. This compost has worked very well for me and I haven't used any after market fertilizer since almost a year (even an organic one). With zero expenditure on fertilizers and pesticides, my roses are the healthiest ever. Earlier, I used to spend a lot on buying all kind of pesticides (organic) and fertilizers and still used to have lot of problems. My roses greatly improved ever since I stopped using synthetic fertilizers last year and shifted to homemade compost.

However, in hot weather, the size of bloom of most roses reduces, in certain cases drastically. The fragrance also reduces a great deal and some of the very fragrant roses almost become non-fragrant.

The purpose of this thread is to share the pics of my roses grown 100% organically in a hot climate where temps reach upto 116*F and to see the effect of such high heat on various rose cultivars. Some of the roses have performed well and some have not. I hope this thread will help identifying better performers in high heat.