SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lynn_nevins

Depression so mild, you didn't realize it was 'depression'?

Lynn Nevins
8 years ago
last modified: 8 years ago

Hello my sisters:

This is my first time on a meno forum (only occurred to me today to seek one out!)

It's been maybe 9 or so months since my last period. (It's funny that I'd always marked off in the calendar when I had a period - so I'd know about when I could expect it the next month - but how do you go back and check how long it's been with NO period, and esp. when you no longer maintain a paper calendar? ;-)

Anyway, I'm pretty sure it's been 9 months or so...

Other than occasional night sweats (for which I take maca pills...not sure how much they help though..)...other than night sweats, I didn't seem to have any other symptoms.

I'd of course heard about women having 'mood swings' and always imagined that was when you become irrational, 'bitchy', then crying, etc. I'd had none of that.

But then about a month ago... I decided one day to take a late afternoon nap...maybe around 400p. When I awoke, it was dark out. As soon as I left my bedroom and went into the rest of my dark apartment with just the streetlights illuminating my apartment, I felt such a swift and intense depression. It was so bad it scared me, and in retrospect I think more than anything, it was because I didn't make the possible connection to menopause...I was really confused as to why I suddenly felt so completely and terribly depressed, and it was that which scared me more than anything. (When I think back to other times in my life I felt depressed, it was always after a particular life event, and so made sense, even IF not pleasant to go thorugh...)