SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
kellyann682

Tillandsia with constant dry tips

Kelly
8 years ago

Hi, Tillandsia newbie here. So my father bought me a little air plant in a glass globe. It was glued in, so I removed it with no damage to the plant. I've been researching these little plants for a couple of weeks now and I am still clueless on how to take care of it. I've had airplants before that all died. Anyway my little airplant is at my office at work. It sits on top of a glass bottle (kind of like the cork). Its under a regular desk lamp all day about 10 inches from the bulb. Its one of those energy saving bulbs that doesn't generate heat. It is also about 2 feet from a northeast facing window.

I've been dunking/soaking it twice a week for about 10-15 minutes. Normally Tuesdays and Fridays. I let it dry out before putting it back onto the glass bottle. My poor little plant has dry tips, contantly. I've cut them twice because it don't like the way it looks. How do I get rid of the dryness? I don't want to over water. Should I mist it?? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Comments (11)

• raxidor
    8 years ago

I think it's caused by lack of natural air flow. My plants usually do that when I move them indoors for winter. After watering they stay damp for few hours. When water evaporates slowly, all compounds dissolved in it precipitate mostly on plant tips. They get "clogged" and die. Placing tills on south windowsill helps a bit, but when weather is constantly gloomy, they get dry tips anyway.

• Photo Synthesis
    8 years ago
    last modified: 8 years ago