SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
merlena87

Top ten best roses

Sara-Ann Z6B OK
8 years ago
last modified: 8 years ago

For those of you who have been growing roses long enough and are experienced enough to know, or observing what others grow, which roses would you consider the top ten best? This is not limited to class, just the top ten period. I know the answers will vary. I don't have a top ten, because I'm not experienced enough with different types.

Comments (47)

• Patty W. zone 5a Illinois
    8 years ago

You have all seen mine but here they are again. My main concerns for roses here are perhaps the concerns of many. Health, hardiness and vigor in an area where many die to the ground a rose needs to be vigorous to continue thru the years. I believe that I have found quite a few this year but they are first year roses that have not yet stood the test of time. As each year is usually different then what came before. It takes a while to tell the best of the best and if a rose will survive and thrive thru the years. Would love to here about a few gems that I've not yet tried.

1 - Flower Girl is a perfect rose bush here. Perfect health even against anthracnose. Always in bloom usually covered with flowers. This bush has been moved 3 times in the last 3 years and has been hear 10+ years

2 - Julia Child while this rose can get black spot here it keeps it under control as long as she gets good sun. So far of all the yellows I've tried Julia is the best all around yellow for health, vigor, bloom and shape. Photo is of one of my new Julia roses that was planted as a band this spring to show it's vigor.

I'm bad that's not Julia Child. This is thou planted as a band in spring. Photo taken in July.

3 - White Out can get anthracnose in a very bad year. This was the worst year for anthracnose I've seen in twenty years. No black spot or mildew. Grows to 3x3 here and covers its self in flower all season.