SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
eldorado316

New owner of a Rubber Plant

Mike (zone 6a)
8 years ago
last modified: 8 years ago

Hi everyone:

I welcomed a Rubber Plant (more accurately, Ficus Burgandy) to my house a few months ago. I want to make sure I am on the right track and any advice/wisdom would be very welcome (as I am a beginner and this is my first "plant").

First of all, I want to make sure I am doing everything I can to make it as beautiful and as healthy as it can be. Here is what I have read and what my plans are for the future:

- I "potted up" when it got home, since it seemed to be seriously root bound. New potting mix was added. Root pruning (will have additional questions on this when it is time) and pruning will wait until late spring/early summer. NOTE: some of the roots, which are thick and look more like stems (have bark on them) have completely circled the plant. I assume these will need to be trimmed or removed completely).

-I am watering every 2-3 weeks (will water less during winter since this is their dormant period) using only distilled water. In the dead of winter, I may also use virgin snow, melted down and warmed to room temperature to keep my watering costs down. Using distilled, rain or snow water would prevent my need to "flush" the soil if I understand this right.

-Adequate light should not be an issue, as my main floor is a wide open floor plan and has large south and east facing windows (the plant initially dropped a few leaves, getting acclimated no doubt, but has not lost any since it found a spot on my ledge separating my kitchen and dinning room receiving some direct east sunlight and indirect (but bright) south light.