SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
meganlanephotos

Only one pumpkin growing on my plant??

meganlanephotos
8 years ago

Hello!!

I have a Jarrahdale Blue Pumpkin Plant (C. Maxima) growing in my backyard this year. It is my first time growing pumpkins. Well, last year I planted pumpkin seeds but the five vines that germinated only grew to about 7" long, formed 2 flowers each and died. Perhaps because I didn't amend the soil, or use any compost. Anyway, this year I only planted two seeds. One Jarrahdale and one Porcelain Doll. My 4 year and daughter and I really wanted a pink and blue pumpkin.

I planted the Jarrahdale seed in my veggie garden bed, amongst other vegetables. My daughter planted the Porcelian Doll seed in the wildflower garden.. her choice, don't know why! This was also our first year really growing any veggies (other than green beans.) In the beginning of April, I put compost, soil amendment and fertilizer in the garden bed. I planted seeds, and seedlings accordingly. I've already harvested a ton of broccolli, cauliflower, kale, lettuce, tomatoes, rhubarb, peas and green beans, artichoke, etc. I can't believe how well everything did since usually my veggies fail. I guess amending my soil made all the difference.