SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
thenorthernmost_byrnes

Brand New Gardener. Seeking advice. Questions within.

The internet is a deep deep resource with conflicting accounts on so many different topics, so I thought I'd just dive in and get my hands dirty. I'm a first time homeowner, first time gardener in Grand Rapids, MI (Zone 5b) and as a chef, I'm all about fresh vegetables and herbs. So I thought, what better what to get the freshest than to start growing my own?!

As I'm sure most beginners experienced, I got overwhelmed with all the knowledge you provided from the internet, and frankly finding a place to begin is the hardest part. I decided to start three projects at once, and well you'll see how that's working out. I began building a coldframe, a 3 compartment compost bin, and a raised bed garden (it will be eventually). I have a 2 year old, and a 2 month old, so my time is always thin and getting things done doesn't always happen as fast I'd like.

I'm the bearded one.

Everything I'm doing is being built from reclaimed pallet wood and the cheapest plants or seeds I can find.

I started with the cold frame.

All that's left to do is outfit the inside with styrofoam for insulation, attach the window, and add the handles.

All the cuts for the compost bins and all the corners and center pylons have been constructed, but it hasn't been put together, and I have no pictures of that.

I seeded early, but killed everything but the Jalapenos, Bell Peppers, Parsley, and Basil. The dead include Cherry and Beefsteak Tomatoes, and just about every other major herb. I determined that I over-watered at the beginning and killed most of them. I didn't have them under enough light, nor in a steady temperature environment, and I planted like 6-8 seeds per socket in the flat. Learned that lesson.