SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
tom_socal

Input requested on various rooting methods...

tom_socal
9 years ago

Hello All -

I am a relative newbie to this and mostly gotten cuttings locally and I root them using the 'conventional' method. My results seems varied. I don't think I am doing things differently between cuttings but some seems to have rotted on me, others seems to root fairly quickly and others just seems to just sit there for a while. The varied results comes even from cuttings from the same parent tree! I root them in clear plastic cups/bottles so I can see the roots. Some times I give up after a few months and pull the cutting out of the pot/bottle and I see the bottom 2-3inches rotted inside out (i.e. thin layer of skin while inside is totally empty/rotted away) and as I then tear off the bottom loose skin and get to where things are solid again, I see roots hidden inside that bottom skin layer and regret disturbing it...

At any rate, I decided to place an order with Derrick at Piece of Paradise and should be getting the shipment soon so reading up on the various methods to decide what I should do. I am intrigued by the water rooting method advocated by Freak4Plumeria.

I did some searching and reading and found this old thread here from last year.

http://forums.gardenweb.com/discussions/2116765/best-and-quickest-rooting-method

It seems water rooting + bag rooting after the 3 weeks in water is another method that could speed things along.

Freak and all - would love to hear your comments and any updated thoughts of what you think of that new water + bag rooting method.

I also see that mjhuntingtonbeach tried the water rooting method and the "the magic just ain't there" for him. I live just next to HB so climate should be similar so might be very relevant to me.