SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
raingreen

Drought Experimet; reqst cold zones for Grndma's Ht, Rgged Robin, etc

raingreen
9 years ago

Hi,

I'm a landscape designer in southern California trying to find roses that grow in very dry conditions in summer. I'm experimenting with using cold hardiness as an estimate for drought tolerance (desiccation tolerance). So far it's worked for the modern rose Carefree Beauty, which survived 4.5 months of drought in it's second summer. No dieback, and flowered a bit more than a month after the first soaking rains of fall. Plants were grown with an east facing exposure in double-dug heavily amended soil. See pics below.

In looking at roses which survive without any water in summer I felt they also would need to be very heat tolerant so I've lurked on posts from very hot areas like Phoenix metro and central TX (thanks to all the posters providing the info). I am not proposing roses can be grown without summer water in the desert though, just in southern California west of the mountains, as long as there is good soil and moisture in winter. And most roses would not be resilient enough to survive and grow well in these soCal conditions, just a select few.

So, are these cane hardy in zone 5? Grown at all in Zone 4? HMF sometimes does not provide reliable USDA Zone info, I've already looked up the ones below on HMF but would like people's individual experiences.

Grandma's Hat

Ragged Robin/Gloire de Rosomanes

Gloire Lyonnaise

Mrs. Herbert Stevens

Sunny South

Carefree Beauty before torture--fall 2013. I stopped watering mid- June 2014, and plants were dry until the first soaking rain around Nov 1 .