SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
donnixd

Fiddle Leaf Fig Trunk Help

Donnie
9 years ago

Hi,

I recently purchased a Fiddle Leaf Fig and it’s very dependent on the supporting stick to stay vertical.Without it, the plant will droop quite dangerously to possibly snapping off.

What can I do to get a strong thick tree trunk? I’m thinking of removing the stick and it’ll eventually support itself? ( It’s 67cm / 26 inch and is currently under stress with brown edges and rusting.).

Im new to this plant and I'm been learning by reading up on the Lyrata posts in this forum.

It droops quite bad, putting alot of stress at the bottom of the trunk. I suspect it always had the supporting stick, was not expose to any wind and the leaves are very heavy.

Use my dog to compare the growth down the track... She has stop growing,

hopefully the tree will continue to.

Thanks.

Comments (52)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    9 years ago

I think you feeling like you're gaining an increased understanding of your plants' needs, and even giving their natural rhythms some consideration, can help you gain a heightened sense of communion with the plants you tend. There is little doubt that we care for plants in order that we might fulfill an individually inherent need to nurture, and feeling like you're a better nurturer can only be a good thing.

Figs are fairly widely divergent in their growth habits, especially the hardy fig, F carica, which is able to handle temps well below freezing while in a predictive dormancy. Your tree won't go dormant, but it will slow down considerably during the winter. Be careful about how you water if your soil is water-retentive. It's generally a bad idea to water in small sips, but access to RO or otherwise deionized water turns that around because there are no dissolved solids to build up in the soil.