SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
racinreaver

Unusual kitchen shape, need remodel design help

RacinReaver
11 years ago

I want to thank everyone in advance since I've been reading the various forums here for a good while, but this is my first time actually posting!

I recently purchased a house that I love, but the kitchen is in some serious need of updating. I've attached an Ikea drawing of what the kitchen looks like at the moment with the following notes.

- I didn't put in top cabinets. Basically, they need to be scrapped as the wood itself is in pretty bad shape. I don't think I can get away with just sanding & painting (Currently everything in the kitchen is a pretty...unique orange. It does match the shag carpet remnants I found underneath another carpet, though.).
- The windows on the top left corner are both very large and extend a few inches below counter height. The corner faces northeast and has a beautiful view of the mountains outside.
- The door on the left side that opens inward is an external door that leads to a carport.
- The circle next to the door is the water heater (more on that later).
- The box next to the water heater is a cabinet.
- Waster & dryer in the lower left corner.
- "Below" this room is the dining area for the house (door on the bottom wall opens into it).
- There is currently no dishwasher.
- Black thing is the range opposite the fridge.
- Ikea doesn't have them, but there's a corner sink looking into the window.
- To the right side of the room there is the entry hall into the house.

As of now, only my girlfriend and I live in the house. I do most of the cooking, but she likes to be able to keep me company.