SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
nk4oh

Help wanted, please: Preliminary kitchen reno plan (Long!)

nk4oh
13 years ago

This is a preliminary version of my kitchen design. I'm hoping to get suggestions and critiques from the TKO members to improve and sharpen it.

Some background: We (two 60-ish adults) live in an old farmhouse that imposes some constraints on our choices. The main one being that this house has had the good luck of having had no significant renovations for more than 120 years. When we bought it I assumed it was just an ordinary old house and planned to make some updates. As I studied the house I was first surprised, and then paralyzed into inaction by the discovery that we had inadvertently bought an almost frozen-in-time, pre-Civil War period farmhouse. Since we place a high value on that physical integrity we have been very cautious about any changes we consider. There are no legal or historical preservation restrictions; we could raze it if we wished. We expect to live out our lives here (and beyond since there is a cemetery out back), so there are no resale issues to consider.

Lately, our reoccuring frustration with the barely functional kitchen has boiled over again, and we realized: if not now, when? We are (finally!) ready to embark on our plan to change the "assigned" functions of some of the first floor rooms in order to make the house more appropriate for us and to move the kitchen to a larger space. Over the years, this room has had more significant changes than any other so it's "ripe" for some restorative improvements. I believe the last reno (c1888) actually moved the kitchen out of this room. Right now it has two radically mismatched windows and six doorways, one of which is a 6-foot wide, double-leafed opening and another is a single-leaf french door to the outside. With a space so hashed up, there's little chance I'll make things worse. So here goes:

Adapted from Buehl's very useful checklist on the "Read me if you are new thread".