SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
gillylily

Anyone else noticing the negativity on this site?

gillylily
13 years ago

Hi-

Just wanted to make sure it wasn't me.. i have been on 3 different forums in the past couple of days and on all three people have been getting very testy with each other... Is it a full moon or something?

Nothing has been directed at me or any of my responses, but it has been really heated around here... What gives?

Perhaps I am just over-reading... but just my thought of the day!! Happy weekend to everyone and KEEP SMILING!!!

Comments (72)

• misplacedtxgal
    13 years ago

Yes, I've witnessed it first-hand. I will never forget one of my first posts "Will a pro-range make me a better cook?". That was an interesting debate! I had several people tell me I should put the money into cooking school instead of the pro-range. They totally missed the point of my question, but part of the problem was how I stated it. I am a good cook, but I cook simple, healthy; no souffles or elegant sauces. They actually helped me in the end to decide that I really didn't need all that fire power to cook how I cook and I wasn't going to change.

My other experience was worse in the appliance forum. I was inquiring about speed ovens. I had done my homework, but this so called "expert" told me I was ignorant! Yes, those were his exact words! I couldn't believe it. I fired back by telling him that I was sure he could find a better use of his time than insulting people on a help forum where they come for help! To this day I have not received any more of his "advice".

Most of the time I find it all rather amusing; that is unless someone is just being attacked personally like I was. I think in addition to the help we receive here many find it an escape for a brief time from reality. It should be a happy place! Thankfully, 99% of the time, it is!

• marcolo
    13 years ago