SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
ccoombs1

Do I listen to everyone else....or follow my heart?

ccoombs1
15 years ago

My DH and I have been building our own house for the last 5 years. It's nearly done. I have been involved in every aspect of this house from hammering nails, laying block, pulling wires and doing all the design work. It's a one-of-a-kind house. Everything has gone well, DH has let me have total control over decorating and design. Until now. We are butting heads over the kitchen colors.

The flooring is quartersawn white oak with waterlox finish throughout the whole house, including the kitchen. The only window in the kitchen looks out into a sunroom, so there is not much natural light, but I have 5 recessed lights, 3 pendant lights in the center, a pendant over the sink, under cabinet lighting, and cabinet top lighting. Plus it's open to the livingroom with only wide open arch ways dividing them. The room is 12' wide with ceilings that vault from 8' along one side to 13' on the other. Length is 18'.

Here's the delema. The stain I have chosen for the cabinets is pretty dark. It is almost the exact same color that is on two pieces of antique oak furniture I have. Picture the color of oak in the old craftsman style homes....that's the color. I LOVE it. It is a perfect contrast with the floors and is a warm, rich color. My plan was to use light yellow paint on the walls, a very light colored backsplash and light granite. My daughter things the color looks too old-fashioned. My hubby wants dark exotic granite and he things the cabs are too dark. I went thru the blog and found some great examples of dark cabinets with light granite and back splashes and love them, but now that my family dislikes my choice so much, I am second guessing myself. This is the stain color I envisioned from the very beginning of this project!! So do I listen to my family and choose a lighter stain, or do I follow my heart and trust my choices? This is SUCH a hard decision!!