SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
laheen

Need help deciding on range: mid-range or high-end?

laheen
13 years ago

I'm re-posting this from the Appliances forum, because I haven't gotten many replies over there & there seems to be more traffic here...

I've been reading lots of posts on ranges. I'm struggling to decide whether it's worth it for me to spring for a top-of-the-line model (Bluestar, Wolf, Viking, etc), or if I'll be satisfied with something on the high end of the mid-range (GE, Bosch, Kenmore Elite, etc). Would love to get some opinions.

Here are my thoughts/goals...

I cook fresh food most days and I'm a competent cook, but I'm not a fancy cook. I never stir-fry or do anything really dramatic on the cooktop, but I do occasionally entertain for large crowds. I don't think I would take advantage of a suped up high-BTU cooktop, but I would like the burners to perform reliably at both boil & simmer modes. My concern about the mid-range models is that they all seem to have dedicated burners for high and low heat. Does that mean you can't simmer on the "power" burner? Because that seems annoying to me.

I'd like to have enough space to fit 2 or 3 large pots on the surface at once, so I was originally planning on a 36" model, but I found a few slide-in 30" models that make such efficient use of space that they almost feel like 36". (The GE Cafe, for one. I think Bosch makes one, too.)

I'm an avid baker and would like two ovens that perform well. I don't need them to have lots of fancy features, but I would like them to have even heat and low maintenance, and be big enough to fit 2 pie plates or a half-sheet pan.

Since the double ovens on the 36" ranges are so narrow, I think our options are to choose one of the 30" models which have the ovens one-over-one (like on the GE Cafe or Kenmore Elite) or break the bank on a 48" pro range, where there would be enough room for side-by-side ovens.

I'm planning on a dual-fuel range.