SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
perdue2

attempt at alienation

perdue2
15 years ago

Since this is my first time posting on this forum, let me give you a quick background on our family situation. I am not only a BM but also a SM.

My husband and I have 4 children collectively. I have a 12 year old daughter from a previous marriage, and my husband has a 14 year old son and a 13 year old daughter from his second marriage, all of whom live with us full time. His 21 year old daughter from his first marriage lives with her mother.

My child's father is also remarried, and for the most part we all try to get along when it comes to raising her. In fact we have all recently sat down to discuss issues concerning her preteen "behavior". They have her EOW and one day during the week. Most of this time is spent with her SM as Dad is working out of state. SM treats her good, so I have no problem with the arrangement.

My SC's BM is a whole different story. My husband filed for divorce when his youngest was 2 because BM was not faithful and neglected the children. He would arrive home after working his first job (she couldn't hold a job), only to have to feed children who hadn't eaten and change diapers that hadn't been changed all day (potty training???), before heading off to his second job. House was a mess and BM had been on computer playing games all day. After the divorce, she ended up living out of her car at one point and was not stable enough to care for herself, let alone the kids. The courts here beleive in shared parental responsibliity, but stipulated that the children would live with him as he could provide a more stable environment. She was to pay child support weekly.