SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
nicksmom_gw

SD hurt, I wanna strangle DH!

nicksmom
15 years ago

OK...time for a new thread, and true to form, my dear SD has given me a fabulous opportunity....to complain about my DH! So let me preface this by saying he's a great, really involved dad. But, alas, he's not perfect! And here's the proof!

SD broke her leg Monday after school at practice! Pulled up to varsity VB, practicing with them, came down from a block and *crack*. Oh yeah...it's an ugly mess!

So, even though I'm *only* the stepmom, I was the one who took her to the ER (GASP--is that overstepping?!). Since I'm a nurse and not squeamish, my DH thougt it best I take her and he'd stay home with the baby (well, the big girl now!). So 4 hours, 3 xrays, a prescription for pain meds, crutches and a cast later, we returned home. Did I mention that her leg is an ugly mess? Oh yeah, and this is an important part of my rant here...we got strict instructions by the ER doc NOT to remove the cast (it's a split cast due to massive swelling) before she sees the surgeon Friday. Husband was made aware of this, word for word.

Tuesday, she goes to school (what a trooper!). After school, the varsity coach instructs her to go to the fieldhouse to see the trainer. Dad (who teaches at her school) took her over. I reminded BOTH of them (SD and Dad) NOT to let the trainer take off her cast. But guess what? Yep, you guessed it! Not only did he take it off "so he could evaluate it" and plunge it in an ice bath, he instructed her to point-flex-point-flex...precisely what was to be avoided by casting her! She has a mess of torn ligaments in her ankle to go along with the fracture. I about came unglued when they told me this. So, big blow-up at our house last night!