SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
worrywart_gw

Unequal Incomes and expenses

worrywart
16 years ago

Hi all, this is my first time posting, and I've read a few threads related to this topic. I'm 30, never married, no children yet, although these are 2 things I do want. I'm in a relationship with a 35yo man with a 6yo daughter from a previous marriage. We've been together just over a year now.

I am in a very financially stable position - have always been a saver, have worked hard in medical school for a good professional career. In a couple years after finishing my training I will be making probably at least twice what my BF makes. He went to community college, transferred and got a college degree, works in management now, makes a decent salary, about 60-70k.

Coming out of his divorce (when daughter was 1yo), he made the decision to take on the debt of that marriage, and was in a very bad financial situation. When I met him (5 years after divorce), he was still having his wages garnished. He is very supportive of his daughter - pays 2-3 times CS because he wants to make sure she has what she needs. He grew up without a father, and doesn't want his daughter to grow up that way.

I don't know his ex's financial situation, but she is employed full-time, and is able to provide for her daughter - always has lots of nice toys, well dressed, etc. After breaking up with her BF, she and the daughter recently moved back in with ex's parents.

My BF willingly provides health insurance, private school tuition (at the ex's request as he does not believe in it), birthday parties, and summer day camp plus whatever comes up when his daughter is around. He decides what he wants to pay for, and often decides to pay completely for things (day camp) without dicussing with the ex whether she could put in anything.