SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
chank_gw

Dealing with a 4 year old

chank
17 years ago

Hi i am new at this. I am 24 years old and I am in a relationship (for 2 1/2 years now) with a 24 year old and he also has a 4 year old daughter from a previous relationship. When I first met him he really didn't see his daughter because the birth mother is very spiteful and just simply didn't want him to see her. Just recently the birth mother has been letting him see his daughter every other weekend. At the beginning of our relationship the daughter wasn't around and I loved just having his time. But now that his daughter comes around more often we fight a lot and only about this. This is the only time we fight and I can't understand why...

I can't stand when his daughter is around because she cries about everything if she doesn't get her way. I understand she is four but this is out of control. She talks back all the time, she hits, she throws tantrums etc. When I am alone with her she knows that she is not going to get everything she wants so she knows better not to act out. I don't spank her because she is not my child but I do raise my voice, send her to her room and take things from as punishment. It's like she has two personalities she is nice when we play (just me and her)I'll do her hair, play in make-up but when that is over she goes right back to being the rude child that she is. She has no respect for me unless it benefits her.