SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
rosieo_gw

Do I have it? NotAGalley 3.0 - please critique

rosieo
13 years ago

Thanks to all your help I think I've got it worked out. Please check my plan for any glaring errors, oversights, or room for improvement. I'm so ready to call this finished, lol.
{{gwi:1844116}}From kitchen for KF

For background context, we have a little farm in the mountains, we raise own food, and it's a small, cozy home. I do a lot of cooking and baking. I'd really appreciate any comments or suggestions.

The kitchen is 15' long, with a 42" aisle. (Though I really prefer a 36" aisle, it just feels good to me.) There's an 11' island separating the kitchen from the living room.

I studied Buehl's zone descriptions very carefully and I think I've got it. I also gave a lot of thought to how I do things in the kitchen (I prefer to have the kitchen to myself but not be isolated) and how things might change as the kids get older.

I put the fridge on the edge so someone can get a drink or a snack without getting in my way.

The dishes and silver will go between the range and fridge (I usually plate at the stove) so the dishwasher can be emptied right into the cabinet across the aisle.

I made sure the dishwasher and oven door can be opened at the same time. The trash pullout will be under the sink on the left side.

Dh will attach the trash can to the back of the (unhinged) cabinet door and rig it with a magnet and pulley system. When I bump the door with my knee the whole thing glides out for hands free access. (Learned that from KF when we remodeled our old house and it worked GREAT.)

Prep zones will be beside and/or in front of the fridge. I located the sink centrally so it's handy from everywhere and I can avoid putting in a second sink.