SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
michoumonster

need advice on designer's color scheme

michoumonster
12 years ago

Hi all, I am planning the colors for my new house, which I want to be a modern mediterranean. I found pictures online of a house staged by Meredith Baer and really love the look. However, I am not sure it would work for my MUCH more modest home that doesn't have designer furniture, etc.? She seems to use really white walls and dark floors. Would this look dingy or too plain or sterile in a smaller space? do you think this color scheme would be high maintenance? i currently have floors that are on the dark side and they show a lot of dirt, for example. I would love your expert opinions. Thanks very much!

Here are some photos of the style and color scheme i like.

Comments (21)

• User
    12 years ago

That room is stunning, I can see why you like it. I'm not a color pro in the least, but I can imagine that the white would definitely be high maintenance no? Or maybe it just depends on your life style. Some people do really well with it, how I don't know it's just me and my DH and I know it wouldn't last a year in our house.

That doesn't mean you can't mimic this though. Even if you went with a toned sofa you can still achieve a similar look with your paint color, furniture style and dark floors. I think the ceiling makes a huge statement, do you have high ceilings? Maybe your space is too small to build out the ceiling like that but you could use some beaming and put your own twist on it.

• michoumonster
    Original Author
    12 years ago