SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
sugar_berry

Need help my ridiculously narrow & awkward living room!!

sugar_berry
9 years ago

Hello friends! This is my first time posting, but I've been lurking in the shadows on GardenWeb for over a year now. I can't tell you how instrumental everyone has been in helping me with my house renovations.

Though we're far from done, my husband and I are ready to start thinking about furniture. We've run into a major dilemma, though! Our living room is extremely narrow, and we technically only have two walls to work with.

A little background: the first floor of the house is basically a giant room with a half-wall dividing the space between the kitchen and the living room. We can't knock down the half wall at this point. The living room itself has three walls that we can use. The stair wall is 8'4", the long empty wall is about 17', and the fireplace wall is about 5'5". Right next to the fireplace is our backyard sliding door, and beyond that, the dining room. I'll attach some photos so everyone can see the room.

We have a piano (24" deep) that only fits in the living room. If we leave the layout as it is now, the sofa is pretty close to the TV (we'll be purchasing a 40"), and we can't really fit a coffee table and a side chair anywhere. If we move the sofa back towards the half-wall, then we create this mini-hallway between the two that's difficult to walk through; plus, it'll be hard to access the books that will go on the shelves that'll be installed on the half-wall. I have a lot of collectible books, so shelf space is needed. I know I need to replace the bookcases for floating or shallower ones.