SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jdm34

HELP - Black Mold

jdm34
16 years ago

Just started my kitchen renovation today. Cabinets came down, but there is half a wall full of black mold. The walls were coming down anyway, so thats not a big deal. But, I'm worried about where the leak is coming from and also the adjacent bathroom wall that I'm sure has mold too.

Any comments/suggestions would be appreciated!

James

Comments (20)

• kailleanm
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I'm not an expert by any means, but I think all you can do is remove all the rotting wood and drywall. Hopefully, as you go, you will be able to find the source of the water.

Did you have a sink, dishwasher or window anywhere near the area where you found mold? Is your tub/shower located on the adjacent bathroom wall? Was it the upper or lower cabs that had mold behind?

Sorry you found this problem. It always sucks when the project goes off in directions we didn't anticipate.

• pbrisjar
    16 years ago

Here's a mold killer recipe:

try a spray bottle with the following in it:

1/2 gal. white vinegar
    1/2 gal. hydrogen peroxide-common peroxide available from your drugstore
    1 cup boric acid
    keep closed tightly
    mix well - use in a spray bottle on a dry surface.

Shake well and spray area well. The vinegar/peroxide kills active live mold and the boric acid keeps them that way. (Note: uncapped peroxide loses it's oxygen molecules to the air when not capped tight and becomes H2O [water], so keep this solution in a bottle that can be capped off tight).

• Related Discussions

Help - Black mold on apple tree leaf veins

Q

Comments (1)
    Here are some pictures of the mold and the browning edges.
    ...See More

Need help- black mold on leaves

Q

Comments (4)