SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
amck2

What Makes A Midsize/Midprice Kitchen Distintive?

amck2
10 years ago

I'm an avid cook and baker and the annual Kitchen Tour fundraiser in our area has been a red-letter day for me for over a decade. Many of the featured homes are oceanfront with kitchens that go on for miles. They are designed and decorated with seemingly no-holds-barred budgets. They're rarely my favorites, though and by the end of the tour, they mostly run together in my mind.

The ones I really love are the ones that ooze charm yet are modern and practical in function. Bungalow kitchens that feature beautiful millwork and clever use of space with just a few warm decorative accents make me swoon.

One I remember from 10 or so yrs. back was mid-sized and had banquette seating. The cushions were covered in a pale yellow fabric printed with white dandelions. Across from it was a long stretch of stacked cabinetry painted a buttercream yellow (much like 2littlefishies' Barley shade). The very upper square cabinets had glass doors displaying a collection of pottery with hand-painted dandelions. The theme wasn't repeated again. It was subtle and not cutesy, but so charming I never forgot it.

That is the type of handprint I am hoping to put on my remodel. I would love to know the memorable elements and small touches you've seen that have struck you. I'm hoping it might spark an idea/plan as I am feeling stuck in the mud.

Comments (49)

• lavender_lass
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Thank you for sharing your kitchen memory! I love those kind of kitchens...charming, rather than showy. I think you answered your own question in a way...restraint.