SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
newalgier

Nuvo Water Conditioner review.

Newalgier
10 years ago

I installed a Nuvo about 4 months ago. I live in a city with hard water (up to 250 ppm) and high pH (up to 8) although this varies, of course, with the season. Most everyone where I live has considered some sort of water softening system, and each has some drawbacks. Until the Nuvo.

You can skip the next few paragraphs if you just want an opinion and don't want to get into the chemistry of water softening. I am a chemical engineer, although I am not a water expert. The internet seems to attract people who are complete nutbars about water ("Deionized water will kill you!" No it won't, but it will taste flat as hell. "Citric acid can't soften water!" True, but you don't care.) so a bit of theory might help buyers understand a bit about what they are looking for.

The bad actors in hard water are typically thought of as the bivalent cations Mg++ and Ca++. These have poor solubility in water and precipitate as scale, as well as requiring increased detergent concentrations and so on. But the cations are only part of the story: the bivalent anion that is found in association is carbonate (CO3--). It's the combination of the Ca++, Mg++, and CO3-- that creates the calcium and magnesium carbonate scales that destroy your glassware and plumbing.

Water softening generally replaces the Ca and Mg with sodium, so you end up with sodium carbonate dissolved in the water, which has much (much!!!) higher solubility in water. Great! No more scale! But there are problems with this approach.