SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
foosacub

in the market...

foosacub
17 years ago

Hi! I'm relatively new to photography, and completely fascinated. We are in the market for a digital camera, >$300.00. I thought this would be a great place to get some advice/suggestions/pros v. cons on brands, specific models, etc. If all you have to offer is a review of the camera you own, as well as whatever options you looked into that you wished you would have gotten, etc. that would be a great help as well.

Thanks in advance!!

-Tiffany

Comments (14)

• zitro_joe
    17 years ago

Tiffany,

What is your $$$ cap?

Well, there are a lot of camera in that price range. What type of camera you are looking for? Do you want aÂPoint and Shoot or would you like to move to the DSLR range? What size of prints do you want to make from the camera? What the most important factor, ISO, HDR, Optics, weight, size?

You will get a whole lot of different suggestions, don't get caught up on which brand is better. They all bring somethng to the table that the other doesnt. Some people defend brands like it's a religion.

Some things to think about: a P&S camera is compact and it easier to part from if you move on to another camera. If you go the DSLR route, you are just not buying a camera, you are buying into a system. Unless you have money to throw around you will most likely keep that camera a lot longer. You will have to buy lenses for the camera body. In most cases the lens can cost as much, or near, as the camera body. Therefore you find yourself dedicated to that company.

There are some very nice entry level DSLRs out there. Nikon had the D50, I played with it for a while, but I decided to pass. I had the Canon XT Rebel, but I fell in love with the Olympus E500 so I gave the Canon to my wife. I can expand later if you want on these cameras if you want more info. Check dpreview.com you can find just about any camera there and it has customer ratings as well.