SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
sherriz_gw

Kitchen Layout advice - lots of pics

sherriz
14 years ago

We are moving the kitchen to the back of our new "old" house and I am in a tizzy trying to make sure that the layout is correct. I can't figure out if I should be using drawers (and how deep) vs cabinets. After reading posts here on GW for several months, I'm taking the plunge and asking advice. The kitchen was designed by our architect and not a KD so I'm not sure if all the fine details are correct.

We are a family of three but I am a baker and cook and we entertain a lot. I have two woks which I use often and need to store as well as all the baking pans. We realize from past experience that we need two dishwashers. Am taking the plunge and also getting a warming drawer. The Kitchen Aid Mixmaster and Cuisinart will go in the appliance garage but I still have rice cooker and waffle iron to store.

We've been saving and will be getting a Wolf 48" range top with grill and the Wolf double oven and a Ceco Huntington dual sink at the window + Rohl sink on the island. Rohl Perrin & Rowe faucets. Jenn Air 48" Fridge & Warming Tray. Cabinets will be Espresso colored White Rift Oak in a Shaker style and the granite is Bianco Antico.

The island will have three bar stools on the opposite side of the work area.

The "art desk" is for my 6 year old daughter to use while I'm in the kitchen and as I've only one child, she's likely to hang in the kitchen doing her homework until she becomes a teen and I can also use the desk for me.

A few questions:

Should the warming drawer move to the bottom?

Should I make it paint grade and paint it white or leave all the cabinets Espresso?

Where should I put the spices?

What about tupperware storage?

Do I need two 48" drawers under the range top for pots or can I use the bottom one for baking pans?

Should I put "open" corners on the left/right side of sink cabinets?