SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
okwriter

Need HELP designing a home office

okwriter
16 years ago

I have been working at home full-time for 2+ years now in a spare bedroom that doubles as an office. I have finally decided to convert it to more of an office and less of a bedroom. Nobody has slept in the bed for two years, and I need more room and more organization!

To help generate ideas for things I may not have considered, please tell me what you would want in your ideal home office.

Comments (15)

• gardenspice
    16 years ago

I also office out of the house. If you do not already have one, get an high quality chair. Also a desk with a keyboard tray is a must. My days can be very long and it is important to me to have proper ergonomics.
    Definitely get a headset.It will save yout neck and free up your hands. I practically can't talk on the phone without one.
    I also think it is useful to have an L shaped desk.
    It won't work for me because of the windows and bookcases in my office, but I wish I had a whiteboard and buletin board.

• okwriter
    Original Author
    16 years ago

I'm OK with my chair and keyboard. I have to be, as my hours can be long, too. I have a headset but don't use it unless I'm doing an interview. They are a lifesaver because I can talk and type at the same time.

I definitely need more storage. Is there anything more functional these days than filing cabinets? New ones can be so expensive! I've priced some office furniture online and holy cow...it is HIGH! I'm thinking I'll start on a budget -- like a door on a couple of filing cabinets OR a folding table with some file cabinets underneath.