SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
graciesmom284

furniture arrangement in family room

graciesmom284
16 years ago

hi, i have another post on here regarding my new room, but i also need help with arranging furniture in a family room, mostly used by my 8 year old watching tv. or when guests come over. is there a better way to arrange my furniture, and the room was done about 7 years ago, how can i update it or "refresh" it?

THanks!!

Comments (25)

• whenicit
    16 years ago

I think your room is screaming out for paint on the fireplace wall. That would beautifully accent the white trim on your arched windows. As for color, I'm not an expert but a darker tan to pull that out of the couch or maybe a bolder rust color? Although I am not sure I'd go too dark with your darker wood pieces.

Another thought is an accent rug under your coffee table area.

I'm not sure I 'get' the placement of the chairs by the FP, they seem a little small/out of scale. What about putting them side by side somewhere else?

Green is a hot color, is there a way to add an updated green to your FP area w/o clashing with your chairs? Not sure but maybe a green plant?

Are you ready to update the pic over the mantle or is that out of budget? Maybe a large leaning piece would be a 'pop'?

Just my quick thoughts!
    Good luck!

• mclarke
    16 years ago

I like the art over the fireplace, but I think it's too large.

It's bigger than the fireplace opening, so it seems to overbalance it.

How about if those nine images were separately framed?

• Related Discussions

furniture arrangement for family room?

Q

Comments (17)