SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
shortyrobyn

Legal Issues

shortyrobyn
13 years ago

January is a bear for me - and although it's been fun here for a few days (and I got some good information - thanks) - I'll probably have to get on to more serious things the next couple of weeks.

Anyway - I'm a retired lawyer who's done 2 condo renovations - 2 office renovations - and built a house - and perhaps I can give you some ideas when it comes to legal issues that might be involved when remodeling a kitchen (or building one in a new house). Note that the answers to these issues will vary a lot state by state - county by county - city by city. So know what the rules are where you live. A few ideas (in no particular order):

1. Except for very minor jobs - you will almost always need to pull a building permit and get inspections. Your GC (if you have one) - should do this. If not - you have to pull it yourself. I recommend using a GC on larger jobs. To pull a building permit - you will need plans - and they will usually have to be signed by someone authorized to sign plans where you live.

2. Get everything in writing. Especially your contract with any GC or sub type people you hire directly. All modifications should be in writing too. A contract doesn't have to be in legalese. If you want the job finished by X - you can just say that in a contract. With a penalty clause if you want. There are specimen contracts on line for many things (contracts with GCs - architects - etc. - various trade groups - like architects - have their own form contracts - but there's no reason they can't be modified). Keep in mind that there is a legal difference between an "architect" (who does plans) and a "supervising architect" (who oversees construction too). Big difference in the cost of the services.

3. Read all the fine print in any contract anyone you deal with wants you to sign. Pay special attention to warranty provisions (especially important with appliances).